Google+ Button Facebook Button Twitter Button




Omar Figueroa Jr., Jermall Charlo and Errol Spence Jr. in action on Saturday, March 2nd in San Antonio, Texas



SAN ANTONIO, March 1 – Texas’ finest boxers will be out in full force on Saturday, March 2, when Golden Boy Promotions and Leija & Battah Promotions bring world-class fight action to the Our Lady of the Lake University Wellness & Activities Center in San Antonio, Texas, featuring unbeaten Lone Star State rising stars Omar Figueroa Jr., Jermall Charlo and Errol Spence Jr.

In the eight-round junior welterweight main event, which will be televised live on FOX Sports Networks and FOX Deportes, Weslaco’s Omar “Panterita” Figueroa Jr. (19-0-1, 15 KO’s) battles Miami veteran Henry Aurad (14-6-1, 11 KO’s). In the co-featured fights, Houston’s Jermall Charlo (11-0, 7 KO’s) takes on East Moline, Illinois’ Gilbert Venegas (12-8-3, 8 KO’s) in an eight-round junior middleweight fight and in a four round welterweight contest, 2012 United States Olympian Errol Spence Jr. (3-0, 3 KO’s) of DeSoto takes on San Antonio’s Luis Torres (4-2-3, 1 KO).

That’s not all as there is a stacked undercard for fans on-site. In an eight round light heavyweight battle, hometown favorite Emanuel Ledezma (11-1, 2 KO’s) takes on Mercedes’ Felix Piedra (9-1-1). Also featured will be a junior welterweight matchup between two San Antonio newcomers, 1-0 Jairo Castaneda and debuting Christian Santibanez.

Plus, San Antonio’s Felipe Castaneda (7-4-1, 3 KO’s) meets Mission’s Gabriel Rangel (7-8-4, 3 KO’s) in a six round bantamweight bout, Austin middleweight prospect Kurtiss Colvin (6-1, 5 KO’s) battles Chicago’s Darius Shorter (1-6, 1 KO) in a four round fight and another San Antonian, Joseph Rodriguez (1-0), takes on Plainview’s Elio Ruiz (1-1) in junior lightweight action scheduled for four rounds.

Opening the event will be a four round middleweight bout pitting Austin’s Kenton Sippio-Cook (1-0, 1 KO) against Dallas’ Carlos Dixon.

# # #

Figueroa vs. Aurad is presented by Golden Boy Promotions and Leija & Battah Promotions and sponsored by Corona. Doors open at 6:00 p.m. PT on fight night and the first bell rings at 7:00 p.m. PT. The FOX Sports Networks and FOX Deportes bi-lingual simulcast will air live at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT. FUEL TV will rebroadcast the fight on May 12 at 12:00 p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT.

Tickets, priced at $125, $100, $75 and $20 are available for purchase by calling Leija & Battah Promotions at 210-979-3302 or through email at m@leijabattahpromo.com.