Google+ Button Facebook Button Twitter Button




Belmontes vs. Diaz set as co-main event on April 13 card in Corpus Christi, Texas



CORPUS CHRISTI, April 9 – Before former World Champion Juan “Baby Bull” Diaz steps into the ring for his highly-anticipated comeback fight against Pipino Cuevas Jr. on Saturday, April 13, fans at the American Bank Center in Corpus Christi, Texas will be treated to a full slate of undercard action featuring local junior lightweight prospect Jerry Belmontes in an eight round bout against Nicaragua’s Daniel Diaz in the evening’s co-main event that will be televised on FOX Sports Networks, FOX Deportes and FUEL TV.

This exciting card is presented by Golden Boy Promotions and Leija & Battah Promotions and sponsored by Corona. Doors open at 6:00 p.m. PT on fight night and the first bell rings at 7:00 p.m. PT. The FOX Sports Networks telecast will air live at 10:00 p.m. ET/9:00 p.m. CT/7:00 p.m. PT. FOX Deportes will air the fights on Sunday, April 14 at 8:00 p.m. ET/5:00 p.m. PT. FUEL TV will rebroadcast the fight on June 9 at 12:00p.m. ET/9:00 a.m. PT.

Tickets priced at $161, $152, $102, $47, $22 and $17 are available for purchase by calling Leija & Battah Promotions at 210-979-3302 or via email at m@leijabattahpromo.com, at the American Bank Center Box Office, H-E-B Ticketmaster Outlets, online at www.ticketmaster.com or via charge by phone at (800) 745-3000.

“The Corpus Christi Kid” Jerry Belmontes (17-1, 5 KO’s) will certainly have the crowd on his side on April 13 when he looks to bounce back from the lone loss of his career against Eric Hunter last December. A highly decorated amateur star, the 24-year-old turned pro in 2008 and won his first 17 bouts before the decision loss against Hunter. Now he gets his shot to get back in the win column and continue his journey to the top of the junior lightweight division in front of his hometown fans. Former world title challenger Daniel Diaz (19-4-1, 14 KO’s) has the experience and style to upset the hometown favorite on April 13 and despite moving up to 130 pounds for the first time, the 27-year-old from Managua has every intention of delivering the goods on fight night.

Also featured on the broadcast will be welterweights Justin DeLoach (1-0) of Augusta, Georgia and Edinburg, Texas’ Martin Gonzalez (1-1), as they compete in a four round fight.

Corpus Christi will be fully represented in undercard action as junior lightweight Ramsey Luna (10-0, 4 KO’s) puts his perfect record on the line against Dallas’ Jesus Rocha (2-3-1), welterweight Cesar Villa (2-0, 1 KO) takes on Laredo’s Alberto Espinoza (1-3), heavyweight Ernest Reyna (1-0) faces Houston’s Tony Wilcox (0-4) and Robert Vela (5-0-1, 3 KOs) faces Francisco Arellano (4-1) of Bay City, with all four fights are scheduled for four rounds.

Other undercard bouts include a six round fight between another Corpus Christi native, Greg Gutierrez (9-1, 2KO’s) and Dallas’ Jose Rodriguez (6-1, 2 KO’s) in a clash of lightweight prospects and San Antonio’s Kendo Castaneda (2-0, 1 KO) battling Laredo’s Olvin Mejia (4-5-3, 4 KO’s) in a four round junior lightweight match. In the four round junior lightweight opener, San Antonio’s Joseph Rodriguez (2-0, 1 KO) takes on Brownsville’s Carlos Orenday (0-4).