- Bermane Stiverne Interview: The WBC Heavyweight Champion Speaks Out
- Left-Hook Lounge Mailbag: Floyd Mayweather, Marcos Maidana, Timothy Bradley, and more!
- The Current 20 Most Exciting Boxers – A Statistical Analysis
- Ashley Theophane talks Floyd Mayweather and Mayhem
- Arum wants Pacquiao vs. Mayweather in Macao, China
- Atlas: Mayweather did just enough to win
- The United States’ Jose Alday, Jr., and LeShawn Rodriquez Advance in Leszek Drogosz Competition in Poland
- Mchunu-Wilson Final Press Conference Quotes
- Mayweather vs. Maidana 2 Premieres This Saturday on SHOWTIME Immediately Followed By “ALL ACESS: Mayweather vs. Maidana 2 Epilogue”
- Lange-Jeter 2 The Rematch set for Nov. 15 at Patriot Center
- POPULAR TWO-TIME NEW YORK GOLDEN GLOVES CHAMPION EARL NEWMAN TO MAKE PRO DEBUT ON OCTOBER 4TH AT FOXWOODS RESORT CASINO, IN MASHANTUCKET, CONN.
- Special Afternoon Edition of Fight Night on Broadcast NBC
German commission (BDB) changes result: Hammer vs. Mathis a “no contest”
President Thomas Pütz: “We all make mistakes – but we got to do our best to correct them.”
The German boxing commission (Bund Deutscher Berufsboxer – BDB) officially changed the result of last Saturday’s female world championship between Christina Hammer and Anne Sophie Mathis to a “no contest”. By doing so the BDB followed the ruling of the World Boxing Federation (WBF) which already announced that change yesterday. The World Boxing Organization (WBO) still has to decide about the result.
The reason for the decision: In the fifth round of their WBO-/WBF Junior Middleweight Championship bout Christina Hammer blocked Mathis’ left arm in a clinch. Referee Manfred Küchler didn’t stop the action so Mathis continuously hit Hammer with her free right arm to the left side of her head. Hammer went down from those punches and couldn’t continue.
However, instead of declaring Mathis the winner by KO, referee Küchler disqualified the Frenchwoman for alleged rabbit punches. Later on Hammer said that she was knocked out by elbow shots. The slowmotion clearly showed that there were no illegal punches at all but that Hammer was fouling instead by holding Mathis’ left arm and still got knocked out.
“The BDB is very sorry for this bad decision”, says President Thomas Pütz. “Because it was a world title fight it was not completely under our jurisdiction. Still the referee Manfred Küchler is a BDB referee and we apologize on his behalf. This was clearly no attempt to cheat on Anne Sophie Mathis and her team but just a wrong judgement in the heat of the fight. We all make mistakes – but we got to do our best to correct them. There will be an investigation of the events and a hearing of Manfred Küchler before we decide if he will be suspended. But there is no question that the result of a DQ victory for Hammer has to be changed to a ‘no contest’. This way Anne Sophie Mathis keeps her world champion title and the promoters can negotiation a rematch which would definitely make sense from our side.”
- Conquest, Sparrow & Wright post wins at Tuesday Night Fights in Philadelphia
- The Calm after the “Mayhem”
- “My Fingers Was Numb!” Mayweather Survives Alleged Nom, Dances to UD in Maidana Rematch
- Cecilia Brækhus unifies division
- Danny McDermott wins WBU junior welterweight championship in GenSan
- Floyd Mayweather Remains Perfect In Rematch With Marcos Maidana on SHOWTIME PPV
- Mickey Bey defeats Miguel Vazquez
- Back at home Chris Algieri’s whirlwind continues
- The Sweet Sucker Punch: Georgie Benton
- Return of the Saint: George Groves ready to make a statement on Saturday night
- Interview: Explosive Joseph Parker meets a Tank
- Pacquiao-Algieri PPV Undercard Packs Plenty of Int’l Intrigue
- Coach Kevin Barry discusses the prospects of his exciting young protégé Joseph Parker
- Gerald Washington, a big man looking to do big things